Ambiera Forum

Discussions, Help and Support.

Create a new account, Search, or Login:
Name: Password:
Ambiera Forum > RocketCake
Starting from beginning with a new website software
Author Text

wessex
Registered User
Quote
2021-02-03 11:30:57

Hello, I have designed and successfully used a website using Freeway7 on my Mac computer for some years. However, the new OS on my Mac is 64 bit and my Freeway7 software is no longer compatible. I have tried converting to Xway but development is taking too long and is rather intense for what I want.

So, I have down loaded RocketCake and although am someone who likes to dive in and have a go, I was disappointed that there didn't appear to be a Tutorial on line. I wonder if there is one? I'm rather keen to get started and if all goes well to upgrade to the Pro version, but I wanted to make sure I was making the right choice changing to this software first.

I look forward to hearing from you.

Peter
Dorset
UK


wessex
Registered User
Quote
2021-02-03 11:39:33

Replying to myself.

I have just found the Tutorial section. It is on the initial website where I downloaded the software.

Off to read the instructions. (We have a saying in the UK: when all else fails, read the instructions!)


chod
Registered User
Quote
2021-02-07 23:13:13

Hello Peter,
I was a Freeway user for many years and very happy with it. But when responsive came along...bye,bye Freeway.

I'm using RocketCake now and, for the most part, I'm very pleased with it.

Here's a link to a website I built for a client.

https://www.johnplattcapstonecon...


wessex
Registered User
Quote
2021-02-09 12:59:03

Hi John,

Nice to meet a fellow ex Freeway user.

Thanks for the info. I'm trying to replicate my old Freeway Website using RocketCake. https://w121som.co.uk

I didn't want a complete change from pages to one long scroll. I can see how yours works for your project but when a prospective Student, visiting my site, wants information on Prices or Terms and Conditions then they are just a click away from the front page.

I don't know if what you showed me is the finished article but I think there may be a slight spelling mistake on the last line.
fo instead of for?

One last question, do I start the build by using a container the page before I add anything else or can containers be added straight from the start for text and images etc?

Regards,
Peter


chod
Registered User
Quote
2021-02-09 15:51:39

Hi Peter,
Thanks for the typo catch on my page.

As to your questions, the Container is the whole key to Rocketcake. They control everything and everything needs to reside in a container.

I made a PDF of an example of how the containers work based on an example that a former user created. I can send that to you if you're interested.


chod
Registered User
Quote
2021-02-09 16:05:19

Here's another site I created with RC.

https://www.detailsbydesign.com/...

It has a few glitches but still works pretty well.


wessex
Registered User
Quote
2021-02-09 16:37:12

Hi John,

It's beginning to make a bit of sense now. My first attempt at building a website was with Microsoft's Front Page in 2000.

The first thing was to place a container, they called it something else back then, onto the blank sheet to contain or constrain every thing on the blank sheet. Without it there didn't seem to be any anchors and when previewing, elements just didn't line up. Also isn't this the way to limit the width of the page when viewed on a browser rather than take up the full width of the monitor screen?


wessex
Registered User
Quote
2021-02-09 16:38:24

I mention this because It doesn't state that the first thing to do is to create a working space with a container. I designed my first Driving School website 15 years ago or more with Freeway and just updated the text as the years went on. So a lot of information that has in my memory has disappeared with time.


wessex
Registered User
Quote
2021-02-09 16:48:23

As to the offer of the PDF, yes I would be very interested in seeing a copy please.


wessex
Registered User
Quote
2021-02-09 16:50:40

Sorry for the many replies, I kept getting a message that my post appeared to be spam. After I removed my email address everything posted ok. You can find my contact details from my website address I sent you.

Thanks,
Peter


wessex
Registered User
Quote
2021-02-09 17:13:24

Sorry chod,

I mistakenly referred to you as John. Just realised that was your client in the website you sent.

About time I took a break. :)

Peter.


Create reply:


Posted by: (you are not logged in)


Enter the missing letter in: "Internatio?al" (you are not logged in)


Text:

 

  

Possible Codes


Feature Code
Link [url] www.example.com [/url]
Bold [b]bold text[/b]
Image [img]http://www.example.com/image.jpg[/img]
Quote [quote]quoted text[/quote]
Code [code]source code[/code]

Emoticons


   






Copyright© 2020 Ambiera e.U. all rights reserved.
Privacy Policy | Terms and Conditions | Imprint | Contact