Ambiera Forum

Discussions, Help and Support.

Ambiera Forum > CopperCube > Announcements and Showcase
Engine improvements

sakura
Registered User
Quote
2023-02-22 16:20:44

wrote:
But it does get embedded in the final game right? if not then this thing is of no use, and please fix the virus thing, and please don't remove or alter moderators' edits from your comments or threads. Otherwise, I have to remove your threads completely.


It is hard to explain this thing clearly, if you know how CopperCube compiles its games, you will understand it.

I add the functions that everyone want to add to this engine before it compiles the game, and then I let it generate the game.

This means that the addition is native JavaScript code.

This has additional benefits, such as add the import command

For example:

import "fps.js"
import "game.js"
import "shader.js"


sakura
Registered User
Quote
2023-02-22 16:23:12

It's actually similar to when you modify client-side C++ code, except it doesn't require source code.


sakura
Registered User
Quote
2023-02-22 16:42:44

About the virus thing, why don't you think it's a false positive?

My program doesn't even create files, registry, etc. It's clean.

If it had a digital certificate, it wouldn't be treated as a virus, but that's expensive.

In fact it runs on my computer every day and if there was a problem it would have crippled my computer long ago.

I've also been working on the problem of being treated as a virus, part of which I'll be rewriting in C++, so hopefully this improves.


sakura
Registered User
Quote
2023-02-22 16:51:04

Your approach is to modify the client, while I improve the editor. If we could work together, wouldn't we get double the benefits?


just_in_case
Moderator
Quote
2023-02-22 17:24:43

I am very strict about virus warnings because I have been there when someone attacked my PC and I lost all of my data.

I do know how Coppercube compiles and how things work in CC.

I just tested your app in a virtual environment.

Your app for now does a few things.

It publishes the EXE when F5 is pressed. Which is already possible with the CLI command line interface for Coppercube.

The second thing that you are doing is, you are using an external Javascript file, again which is already a feature of Coppercube that allows you to run your scripts from external files. Those external files get embedded into the Coppercube source.

Also, the user needs to manually change the example.Js name according to the Coppercube project name.

Other things that your app is doing like setting windows size and other things are already possible with Autohotkey. you can get the process name and other do all sorts of other stuff.

I recently helped one of my Discord server members to get set his desired resolution thing with AutoHotkey.

I am not against your tool, but I can't ignore the warning that my defender is giving me.

You can develop and further improve your tool and nobody is against your tool, just get rid of the virus thing.

and in your original thread, you modified and removed the moderator's comment and re-inserted your link there. I will suggest you not modify edited content by yourself. You can request the moderators or ask them to revert the changes. But you are not allowed to change or remove a moderator's edited comment by yourself.


sakura
Registered User
Quote
2023-02-22 17:34:06

Thanks a lot for understanding. Yes, practically you can use CLI or Autohotkey tool to implement these functions. But for others it can be difficult to understand and I made a tool for this purpose to simplify these operations.


sakura
Registered User
Quote
2023-02-22 18:02:22

Regarding anti-virus software, it is best to use software that has HIPS(Host-based Intrusion Prevention System), which is not reporting viruses based on the API the file contains.

The one thing I can notice so far is that because I use a background hidden run, this point causes it to be reported as a virus.

Usually this type of antivirus software does not go by the actual actions of the program, but only by whether certain APIs are called, which can easily result in false positives.

Actually, I don't think Windows Defender is safe, because the real virus is processed. It will be reported as a safe file. Only when it runs, it will destroy your computer.

Of course the best way is to backup your computer data, for example by uploading the files using a cloud storage.


Robbo
Guest
Quote
2023-02-23 03:05:57

Ok, well here is my somewhat funny attempt to show you how I added in new engine functionality from someone with no C++ knowledge only a couple of weeks ago...

https://youtu.be/jZ4Bj2CItbs

There are some real experts out there that could really get some cool stuff happening...

Just_in_case said he will also do a video so hope to see that also....

cheers.


Create reply:


Posted by: (you are not logged in)


Enter the missing letter in: "Inte?national" (you are not logged in)


Text:

 

  

Possible Codes


Feature Code
Link [url] www.example.com [/url]
Bold [b]bold text[/b]
Image [img]http://www.example.com/image.jpg[/img]
Quote [quote]quoted text[/quote]
Code [code]source code[/code]

Emoticons


   






Copyright© Ambiera e.U. all rights reserved.
Privacy Policy | Terms and Conditions | Imprint | Contact