Ambiera Forum

Discussions, Help and Support.

Create a new account, Search, or Login:
Name:  Password:
Ambiera Forum > CopperCube > Programming and Scripting
Animation position
Author Text

Robo
Guest
Quote
2021-04-16 13:55:52

I have an existing FBX animation from Mixamo but want to reposition it to the ground as its up in the air.

Anyone know how to do this ?


just_in_case
Registered User
Quote
2021-04-16 20:03:19

Can't you do it in blender. If you want you can reposition the keyframes to ground in blender...
Just select the root bone and press "alt+g" to remove any position keyframes from that bone.

I never tried that myself but it should work as far as i know.


Vegan_Pete
Guest
Quote
2021-04-18 14:03:51

If you add a "collide when moved" to the object in coppercube, you can move the yellow ellipsoid up/down to adjust the alignment of the model with the floor. In turn, this adjusts the height of animated models from the floor.


just_in_case
Registered User
Quote
2021-04-19 03:59:57

@veganpete if the animation has no in place movement then adding collide when moved behavior will do nothing depending on the animation.

For example if you have jump animation, where the player is not locked to the root position and it moves upwards then adding a collide when moved behavior will jot be able to stop it from going upward.
It will still move the animation high in the air. And the collision ellipsoid will stay in the place.

I beleive @robo knows this and he wants to reposition the animation and not the collision ellipsoid.


veganpete
Registered User
Quote
2021-04-19 08:45:10

Ah, ok - in that the case, simply click the in place button in mixamo.com and export the .fbx animation. (The character animation will then remain in a fixed position instead.)




Robo
Guest
Quote
2021-04-21 04:12:35

wrote:
Can't you do it in blender. If you want you can reposition the keyframes to ground in blender...
Just select the root bone and press "alt+g" to remove any position keyframes from that bone.

I never tried that myself but it should work as far as i know.


thanks for the all the feedback, and yes i have many mixamo animations and I already use fix in place yet some animations still put the animation up in the air so look bad and wont match the actual player position properly so needs grounding.

I will try just_in_case method thanks...Im not good with Blender, if I can't fix it can anyone here offer to try fix it for me ?


veganpete
Registered User
Quote
2021-04-21 13:55:55

Sure. I'd be happy to try for you (without using blender), it's good practice for me as I'll probably encounter the same issues in the future.

If you can post a link here to the model (and its textures) and a list of all the animations you want.

I can rig the model in mixamo and export all the mixamo animations you want (using the same fixed plane for the rigged model).

They should all line up now - then I can merge the multiple animations and embed them as a single file into a direct.x model (using ultimateunwrap3Dpro).

Then import the animated model into coppercube (to apply the individual textures and define the various animations).

If it works, I'll re-upload the whole thing here, as a working coppercube prefab for you to import back into your game.

If not, we'll have to resort to learning blender.


Robo
Guest
Quote
2021-04-23 13:42:40

Hi guys, Im back.

I had a look at changing some keys frame animations and dont know what the hell Im doing.. Blender has never appealed to me much so yeah...

I have uploaded the climb fbx animation I would like to ground so that no gap in the animation box is under the player so I can switch easily to other animations that dont have any gap underneath.

http://lasttrump.net/Downloads/climb.fbx

If anyone is able to find a way to fix this much appreciated..
ps new and better FPS controllers coming soon - both types so once I get this climb animation fixed will release that.

Cheers,
Robo.


count2rfeit
Registered User
Quote
2021-04-23 17:38:51

I guess I don't understand what you what to do...

but yea, I have had the same problem with Maximo animations, not lining up depending on which animations you choose - and I didn't find a way to adjust them either, other than just moving them in CC.

here is an example of what i mean....(both animations made in Maximo)

https://www.mediafire.com/file/9...

mesh 2 y-pos is at 10.36
mesh1 y-pos is at -6.29

so I just move mesh 1 down 16.62 points below mesh2 ( or from where ever mesh 1 is starting from)

not a great solution... but it worked for me in the past


veganpete
Registered User
Quote
2021-04-24 01:44:09

Here's the climber animation with a collision ellipsoid to ground it to the floor - does this help solve the problem at all?....

https://mega.nz/file/351ViYqQZpr...


Robo
Guest
Quote
2021-04-24 10:00:53

wrote:
Here's the climber animation with a collision ellipsoid to ground it to the floor - does this help solve the problem at all?....

https://mega.nz/file/351ViYqQZpr...


thansk veganpete but the download link is not working for me...Win 10 64-bit ?


veganpete
Registered User
Quote
2021-04-24 22:14:22

Ah - sorry about that - Do these link work now?....
https://drive.google.com/file/d/...

https://www.mediafire.com/file/l...


count2rfeit
Registered User
Quote
2021-04-24 23:54:52

no.. still got to have an account and sign in to download....


just_in_case
Registered User
Quote
2021-04-25 17:31:19

@Robo tomorrow I will post a video on my youtube Channel showing how to combine and apply different animations to a single 3D model whether it's mixamo animations or any other animations. I will also show how to lock your character's movement to root position if there is no option for In place movement in Mixamo.

Hopefully, then you will be able to do it easily all by yourself. btw in the video, I will show the exact same method of clearing position and then inserting keyframes which i have already suggested in my above post.

Edit:- just downloaded and checked the model that you have provided and it seems that your problem is not related to animation. I think you want to change the pivot point of the animated model which appears to be down below the animated model. please confirm if that is the problem you are facing?


Robo
Guest
Quote
2021-04-26 06:41:07

wrote:
Ah - sorry about that - Do these link work now?....
https://drive.google.com/file/d/...

https://www.mediafire.com/file/l...


Thanks for that - you got it...not sure how but looks fine thanks.
I couldnt download before but today is now working...

The player bottom is at the feet rather than some other place in the air like before....cool thanks.


Create reply:


Posted by: (you are not logged in)


Enter the missing letter in: "In?ernational" (you are not logged in)


Text:

 

  

Forum Codes


Feature Code
Link [url] www.example.com [/url]
Bold [b]bold text[/b]
Image [img]http://www.example.com/image.jpg[/img]
Quote [quote]quoted text[/quote]
Code [code]source code[/code]

Emoticons