ambiera home ambiera home

Ambiera Forum

Discussions, Help and Support.

Create a new account, Search, or Login:
Name:  Password:
Ambiera Forum > CopperCube > Programming and Scripting
Pass commands from CMD to engine
Author Text

xanimalkingx
Registered User
Quote
2019-05-13 18:13:01

Is it possible to pass commands from CMD to the engine to control objects and such? For example, I wanted to make a frontend, that uses CMD to move an object or modify an object. And lets say its the other way: I used the CMD to retrieve a coppercube variable, like the current position of an object, then stored it in the frontend to display it's position. Is this possible? If not, can anyone recommend a simple graphical engine that can do this?


srfstudio
Registered User
Quote
2019-05-14 17:15:53

I don't know what you want to achieve but maybe you should check out Construct 2, it has a good range of commands that can communicate between apps and Windows. Some of them are: Append File, Create Folder, Run file, Write File...
Also one that I haven't seen anywhere and proved to be very useful: Clipboard, with that one you can 'listen' to all text being copied into clipboard and also write/react to specific lines the moment that they are sent to clipboard.


xanimalkingx
Registered User
Quote
2019-05-15 02:35:15

wrote:
I don't know what you want to achieve but maybe you should check out Construct 2, it has a good range of commands that can communicate between apps and Windows. Some of them are: Append File, Create Folder, Run file, Write File...
Also one that I haven't seen anywhere and proved to be very useful: Clipboard, with that one you can 'listen' to all text being copied into clipboard and also write/react to specific lines the moment that they are sent to clipboard.

I already said what I wanted to achieve, to make a frontend that does stuff, to interact with the engine. Like, making a UI to create objects, in the embedded engine, etc. Also, you notice that I am asking this here in a 3d game engine's forum, so of course a 2d game engine would not work here, like Construct 2.


xanimalkingx
Registered User
Quote
2019-05-15 02:36:58

Like, I am making the UI, via Visual Studio, but what Im asking is if there is some 3d game engine that can be controlled by the command line, or at least by some other means


srfstudio
Registered User
Quote
2019-05-15 03:08:07

Yes, I've noticed you're asking in a 3D game engine's forum, that's why I suggested Construct 2.
Construct 2 has a number of plugins for 3D and the best one is Q3D plugin powered by Three.js which actually exceeds CopperCube capabilities in some aspects, especially when it comes to normal/bump/specular mapping on static/animated models, it supports lightmaps & unlimited dynamic lights & it has a wide range of extremely functional AI routines.
That said, Q3D is very badly optimized, there is always a problem that forces developer to break up levels to a smaller areas and there is no way to clear memory.
But if your game is not big and you are planning to control game/levels from the outside app than it could work just fine. Especially since Construct 2 has a large variety of very easy to use options for communicating with Windows through his (native) NWJS module.
/////Edit
You can also very easily use CopperCube for this if you make a WebGL build and than just create a desktop app with NWJS wrappers. This way you can control everything by using Local Storage variables to send/receive data from/to CMD/Game.


xanimalkingx
Registered User
Quote
2019-05-20 18:06:25

wrote:
Yes, I've noticed you're asking in a 3D game engine's forum, that's why I suggested Construct 2.
Construct 2 has a number of plugins for 3D and the best one is Q3D plugin powered by Three.js which actually exceeds CopperCube capabilities in some aspects, especially when it comes to normal/bump/specular mapping on static/animated models, it supports lightmaps & unlimited dynamic lights & it has a wide range of extremely functional AI routines.
That said, Q3D is very badly optimized, there is always a problem that forces developer to break up levels to a smaller areas and there is no way to clear memory.
But if your game is not big and you are planning to control game/levels from the outside app than it could work just fine. Especially since Construct 2 has a large variety of very easy to use options for communicating with Windows through his (native) NWJS module.
/////Edit
You can also very easily use CopperCube for this if you make a WebGL build and than just create a desktop app with NWJS wrappers. This way you can control everything by using Local Storage variables to send/receive data from/to CMD/Game.


I ended up just making a web browser object and using Three.JS and communicating with it via executing javascript.


calabrovarijo
Registered User
Quote
2019-06-16 19:36:46

wrote:
Yes, I've noticed you're asking in a 3D game engine's forum, that's why I suggested Construct 2.
Construct 2 has a number of plugins for 3D and the best one is Q3D plugin powered by Three.js which actually exceeds CopperCube capabilities in some aspects, especially when it comes to normal/bump/specular mapping on static/animated models, it supports lightmaps & unlimited dynamic lights & it has a wide range of extremely functional AI routines.
That said, Q3D is very badly optimized, there is always a problem that forces developer to break up levels to a smaller areas and there is no way to clear memory.
But if your game is not big and you are planning to control game/levels from the outside app than it could work just fine. Especially since Construct 2 has a large variety of very easy to use options for communicating with Windows through his (native) NWJS module.
/////Edit
You can also very easily use CopperCube for this if you make a WebGL build and than just create a desktop app with NWJS wrappers. This way you can control everything by using Local Storage variables to send/receive data from/to CMD/Game.

that can be controlled by the command line, or at least by some other means


Create reply:


Posted by: (you are not logged in)


Enter the missing letter in: "Interna?ional" (you are not logged in)


Text:

 

  

Forum Codes


Feature Code
Link [url] www.example.com [/url]
Bold [b]bold text[/b]
Image [img]http://www.example.com/image.jpg[/img]
Quote [quote]quoted text[/quote]
Code [code]source code[/code]

Emoticons


   





Software: Ambiera Light Forum. © 2008-2019 Nikolaus Gebhardt, Ambiera e.U.