ambiera home ambiera home

Ambiera Forum

Discussions, Help and Support.

Create a new account, Search, or Login:
Name:  Password:    
Ambiera Forum > CopperCube > Help with CopperCube
Video Playback
Author Text

behroz-khan
Registered User
Quote
2018-09-08 17:32:15

Coppercube documentation tells nothing, I have done so exactly as written but in Coppercube Debug Console a line appears with:
Video-Playback: could not open video <video file name.mp4>
And do mp4 works with Coppercube? If no then which file works???
Help will be appreciated.


j9907
Registered User
Quote
2018-09-08 17:43:21

I use the "mpg" format. Upload your video to online-convert (look it up on Google) and convert the video to MPEG2. then it'll work


behroz-khan
Registered User
Quote
2018-09-08 18:46:15

Ok I will give it a try.


behroz-khan
Registered User
Quote
2018-09-08 22:40:02

Nope. Still not working for me.
Any help?
Can you set up a simple ccb file for me please???


behroz-khan
Registered User
Quote
2018-09-08 22:41:09

Still the same problem. Please help me.


behroz-khan
Registered User
Quote
2018-09-08 22:46:03

I have also converted it to MPEG2 and MPEG4 but no playback.

Can you set up a simple ccb file for me please???
PLEASE?


karmacomposer
Registered User
Quote
2018-09-08 23:42:21

What video formats and bit rates do work - it would be helpful to know not just the format (mpg2) but the bitrate and any other specifications so we can convert video correctly.

Is mpeg layer 2 the only video format that will work with coppercube?

Mike


j9907
Registered User
Quote
2018-09-09 06:58:07

It worked fine for me. not sure why it doesn't work for you. no special parameters are needed. As long as the video file is in the same directory as the CCB file, it should load it right off the bat.

Fair warning, though: Videos will make games stutter badly if you have lightmapping. Even if you degrade the video quality it still works badly.

Oh, and have no spaces in the filename. see if that helps any


behroz-khan
Registered User
Quote
2018-09-09 08:06:11

As you said
Oh, and have no spaces in the filename. see if that helps any

If there are spaces in that video file then I should give spaces Right?
And Do I need a special software like Video Player to do so (I have read this in documentation before the Coppercube 6 released)
And can you set me up a simple ccb file? Please


j9907
Registered User
Quote
2018-09-09 11:19:04

Actually, I was meaning this:

If your video is named:

video file.mpg

then it may not read it. Try this:

videofile.mpg

All one word. that's what I meant


karmacomposer
Registered User
Quote
2018-09-09 16:23:05

or video_file.mpg

Just saying.

So specs don't matter and having textures set to dynamic do regarding video playback performance?

Mike


j9907
Registered User
Quote
2018-09-09 18:58:43

Or yes, that'd be cleaner i suppose! Good idea.

Well, with my scene the game would drop to 15 frames a second after a video would play. then after it finishes, it'd go back to 60. I'll be starting over in CC5 since I like the lighting model on that one more, and maybe the FPS won't suffer so damn much there!


karmacomposer
Registered User
Quote
2018-09-10 00:32:43

wrote:
Well, with my scene the game would drop to 15 frames a second after a video would play. then after it finishes, it'd go back to 60. I'll be starting over in CC5 since I like the lighting model on that one more, and maybe the FPS won't suffer so damn much there!

But that makes sense.

As someone who shoots and edits video professionally, it can be very computationally expensive. Depending on the need, I would say that if you are covering a TV, let's say, then create the video at 320x240 and at a very low bitrate so it has a very small file size. More than likely, you are having a lot of buffering as the video plays (remember, 30 frames per second is video - that's 30 pictures per second playing)

Length is also an issue. It would be better to have a 30 second clip looping than have a long video. Even 10 seconds would work as a loop. Again, 30 times 60 equals how many pictures PER MINUTE is being played.

If it's a cutscene, then either use the engine instead of video or stop the game and play the video full screen.

Believe it or not, it's actually easier for the computer to display the video full screen than to shove it onto a side of a 3D asset as a video texture.

If you must have it full screen, then render the video at 1920x1080 (1080p) or 1280x720 (720p) and a low bitrate. The SMALLER the file size, the better it will be for the engine.

If the video will be effected (like digital noise or as a CCTV camera with scan lines) then you can get away with DVD resolution of 720x480 at a VERY LOW bitrate.

Mike


j9907
Registered User
Quote
2018-09-10 00:56:45

Actually, it was a video with no audio and it was very low-res! Less than 1024x768


karmacomposer
Registered User
Quote
2018-09-10 03:48:16

wrote:
Actually, it was a video with no audio and it was very low-res! Less than 1024x768

Other than mpg2, are there any other formats that Coppercube can play?

Mike


Create reply:


Posted by: (you are not logged in)


Enter the missing letter in: "Internati?nal" (you are not logged in)


Text:

 

  

Forum Codes


Feature Code
Link [url] www.example.com [/url]
Bold [b]bold text[/b]
Image [img]http://www.example.com/image.jpg[/img]
Quote [quote]quoted text[/quote]
Code [code]source code[/code]

Emoticons


   





Software: Ambiera Light Forum. © 2008-2018 Nikolaus Gebhardt, Ambiera e.U.