Ambiera Forum

Discussions, Help and Support.

Ambiera Forum > RocketCake
Paid help wanted, . . . I can't go on with RocketCake's layout features ...

cyberam
Registered User
Quote
2024-03-24 17:56:03

For aesthetic design reasons, I do not use responsive (machine) design. But it seems that RC is just trying to do that and doesn't know WYSIWYG. So I saved each of my web pages as a JPEG to just leave the navigation menu and the links to RC.

But then when I place an HTML5 movie on an otherwise empty page, it sometimes appears in Preview as if by magic on the left side, then on the right or disappears completely without me knowing why, because when I activate it the center button is inactive.

Or, even though I've already set the iPhone 11 on the page and in the menu as the output format a hundred times, the program usually ignores it and chooses either 'Desktop' or 'Custom'. So why choose at all?

It's also hundreds of times a day a pain in the a . . . to press away two non-existent cryptic warning messages like kCFErrorDomainNetwork:1'error and Apple 'refresh' ?+R (I can't find it in Apple Shortcuts anyhow) and confirm on and on that you don't want to see the warning anymore - just that it hustles you again and again with the same nonsense! This is torture and is just one of about two dozen same kind, at least in the Mac version of RC.

I now have the feeling that the programmer only ported RC to Mac OS out of necessity, because after 25! Similar nuisances, which could probably be fixed in the simplest way, I'm tired of seeing new useless features such as 'Masterpage', instead of fixing old glitches. I mean what's the difference between an empty pages with all features that appear on every new page to a 'Master Page'? Well, 'MasterPage' doesn't copy sub menus but my copied site has them all!

I had already considered organising crowd funding so that RocketCake could mature, because in addition to these shortcomings, there are also many positive moments while working with RC.

I'm urgently looking for someone who can fix those imperfections for a fee, so that I can get my website onto the server. As I have an iPhone and a Desk version for my website I'm also looking for someone who can help me with a script telling the server sending out the right version. Please anyone who can help, contact me by my email, w.falb@cyberam.de!

Thanks for having followed me up to here, folks.


erik
Registered User
Quote
2024-03-24 19:15:20

Why dont't you just click the "don't show this message again?" box?


micaelo
Registered User
Quote
2024-03-25 10:22:28

For aesthetic design reasons, I do not use responsive (machine) design. But it seems that RC is just trying to do that and doesn't know WYSIWYG.
Well, RocketCake is a WYSIWYG editor and, by default and definition, it creates responsive websites. If you don't want to create a responsive website, you could use Ambiera's WebsitePainter, instead.
when I place an HTML5 movie on an otherwise empty page, it sometimes appears in Preview as if by magic on the left side, then on the right or disappears completely without me knowing why, because when I activate it the center button is inactive.
I cannot reproduce such behaviour (under Windows).
even though I've already set the iPhone 11 on the page and in the menu as the output format a hundred times, the program usually ignores it and chooses either 'Desktop' or 'Custom'. So why choose at all
This feature is not to set the output format. It's just to let you anticipate the layout at a certain screen width, or to let you individually adjust the sreen width at which the menu switches to the mobile menu, or to let you check whether breakpoints work the way you have set them to work.
what's the difference between an empty pages with all features that appear on every new page to a 'Master Page'? Well, 'MasterPage' doesn't copy sub menus but my copied site has them all!
The concept behind using a masterpage is to outsource content which is to appear on all pages so that you have to create this content only once, and have only one place if you want to make changes to this content. This typically applies to the navigation menu (incl. sub menus) and to the footer.
As I have an iPhone and a Desk version for my website I'm also looking for someone who can help me with a script telling the server sending out the right version.
What's the point behind creating a static layout for a particular device if responsive design allows you to address all mobile devices (or desktop) out there? You can use breakpoints to adjust your layout (or the visibility of individual content elements) to a particular screen width. If for whatever reason you insist on providing a static iPhone and a static desktop verson, learn how to use CSS3 Media Queries to let the server know which version to deliver.


cyberam
Registered User
Quote
2024-03-25 10:50:09

wrote:
Why dont't you just click the "don't show this message again?" box?



Well have you read my complain? That's just the nuisance I was talking about. It DOES show every time again.


cyberam
Registered User
Quote
2024-03-25 12:40:52

cyberam: For aesthetic design reasons, I do not use responsive (machine) design. But it seems that RC is just trying to do that and doesn't know WYSIWYG.

You: Well, RocketCake is a WYSIWYG editor and, by default and definition ...

cyberam: Well, might be for Win people. If you go to Canva you see what real WYGIWYS is about.

You: If you don't want to create a responsive website, you could use Ambiera's WebsitePainter, instead.

cyberam: OH, I didn't know, thank you for this tip.



cyberam: when I place an HTML5 movie on an otherwise empty page, it sometimes appears in Preview as if by magic on the left side, then on the right or disappears completely without letting me knowing why, because when I activate it, the center button is inactive.

you: I cannot reproduce such behaviour (under Windows).

cyberam: That's why I'm whining about the Mac version.



cyberam: Even I set iPhone 11 as format 100 times the program usually forgets it and chooses either 'Desktop' or 'Custom'. So why choose anything at all

you: This feature is not to set the output format. It's just to let you anticipate the layout at a certain screen width, or to let you individually adjust the screen width at which the menu switches to the mobile menu, or to let you check whether breakpoints work the way you have set them to work.

cyberam: Ok, but then why does it never store the chosen device? For me those 21 other devices are useless while 'custom' alone would be sufficient. Know, I never want to match precisely just a single device but to put in an average screen seize I can expect to meet many devices.



cyberam: I never found out the difference between an empty page with all features that appear same as on a 'Master Page'?

you: The concept behind using a masterpage is to outsource content which is to appear on all pages so that you have to create this content only once, and have only one place if you want to make changes to this content. This typically applies to the navigation menu (incl. sub menus) and to the footer.

cyberam: Ok, changes to the content only once for all, understood!



cyberam: As I have an iPhone and a Desk version for my website I'm also looking for someone who can help me with a script telling the server sending out the right version.

you: What's the point behind creating a static layout for a particular device if responsive design allows you to address all mobile devices (or desktop) out there?

cyberam: Well, don't take me wrong and I don't want to insult any WIN users. They for sure way better programmers than designers to say it friendly, the reason most designers using MacOS.
I have asked 3 people (Canada, Venezuela and Serbia) to set up my website. They all used responsive design and failed completely. Responsive design never places elements exactly to the point where they should. And how can it? So I've never seen a perfect solution. When I look at the amount of code I think speed might also matter ... though most deny it.



you: You can use breakpoints to adjust your layout (or the visibility of individual content elements) to a particular screen width. If for whatever reason you insist on providing a static iPhone and a static desktop verson, learn how to use CSS3 Media Queries to let the server know which version to deliver.

[quote]cyberam: Thank you for all your arguments and for this tip also, I'll look into Ambiera's WebsitePainter, but fear I probably cannot use my Java Script that opens another page when the movie ends.
Still I rather would have someone to do this for me.



micaelo
Registered User
Quote
2024-03-25 16:09:48

Ok, but then why does it never store the chosen device? For me those 21 other devices are useless while 'custom' alone would be sufficient. Know, I never want to match precisely just a single device but to put in an average screen seize I can expect to meet many devices.
As said earlier: The blue slider tool is not the place where you make any page settings. It's just a tool to let you see how your page settings and layout will look at various devices. You are right, the devices listed there are just a nice-to-have, yet helpful if you want to make a check for a specific device. The actual page settings, however, are made in the page's properties windows, and the settings you make there are going to be saved. So, if you want to make a website for an iPhone's viewport width, use the blue slider to read the iPhone width from the slider tool, and then design your page(s) to that width by setting the MaxWidth property to exactly that value.


Create reply:


Posted by: (you are not logged in)


Enter the missing letter in: "?nternational" (you are not logged in)


Text:

 

  

Possible Codes


Feature Code
Link [url] www.example.com [/url]
Bold [b]bold text[/b]
Image [img]http://www.example.com/image.jpg[/img]
Quote [quote]quoted text[/quote]
Code [code]source code[/code]

Emoticons


   






Copyright© Ambiera e.U. all rights reserved.
Privacy Policy | Terms and Conditions | Imprint | Contact