Ambiera Forum

Discussions, Help and Support.

Ambiera Forum > CopperCube > Help with CopperCube
Skybox only visible in editor?

kapena1337
Registered User
Quote
2023-08-07 20:30:48

Hey Dear People,

recently i wanted to really start and learn game developing,
i experimented before but quit because it was overwhelming,

now i found out about coppercube and so far i think its the best for me.

never been so suffisticated on a project.

however i encounter one misunderstanding so far

for my skybox i used a giant sphere
removing the tick at BackfaceCulling gives me the oppurtunity to project a sky to the inside of the ball which the map sees from inside.

in editor it looks fine but when i click on publish and run around with my fps camera, i cannot see the actual skybox, its all grey.

i can see the skybox reflection on water surfaces though so it kinda must be there..

i attached 2 pictures to show you what i mean


https://ibb.co/Y0CJk74 https://ibb.co/6s5Tgqn


chrisz
Registered User
Quote
2023-08-07 21:01:41

Hi

"flip" the normals of the sphere.
You have textured your sphere on the outside but you are inside the mesh.


kapena1337
Registered User
Quote
2023-08-07 21:15:36

i have just tested with a normal skybox, the problem is the same.

it doesnt seem to matter how i apply a skybox, just everything that is Far apparently is invisible when i play. when in editor its all visible. its okay for buildings to load in when you get there but the sky needs to be there all the time visible for the player, anyone any ideas?


chrisz
Registered User
Quote
2023-08-07 21:25:13

Load a copper cube skybox for test.


kapena1337
Registered User
Quote
2023-08-07 21:35:11

hmm youre right

i just created a simple scene

heightmap png with really large map
fps kamera
and if i run around i can see the startup skybox..

if i remember correctly i deletec the startup skybox in my project because with the 6 sided picture skybox i alway had the problem that one side of the cube is very bright compared to the others (yeah i checked dynamic lighting..)

so i started to construct this sphere..

how can i get a decent skybox ;(
im already sad that i cannot comprehend how to make a moving skybox for day night cycle.. yet

for now i wanted a nice spacey, polar lights sky but i cannot see it ingame :D


kapena1337
Registered User
Quote
2023-08-07 21:40:14

okay i fixed the prooblem
i just made a new skybox and aligned the pictures like they should be.
i knew that i did that before but now it looks good!

thanks for the refreshing ideas


Guest
Guest
Quote
2023-08-08 03:44:53

Also there is the FarPlane setting for the camera that can be adjusted to increase view distances.


kapena1337
Registered User
Quote
2023-08-09 14:48:29

Awesome thank you! I needed this too


Create reply:


Posted by: (you are not logged in)


Enter the missing letter in: "In?ernational" (you are not logged in)


Text:

 

  

Possible Codes


Feature Code
Link [url] www.example.com [/url]
Bold [b]bold text[/b]
Image [img]http://www.example.com/image.jpg[/img]
Quote [quote]quoted text[/quote]
Code [code]source code[/code]

Emoticons


   






Copyright© Ambiera e.U. all rights reserved.
Privacy Policy | Terms and Conditions | Imprint | Contact