Ambiera Forum

Discussions, Help and Support.

Ambiera Forum > CopperCube > Announcements and Showcase
Dialogue Manager

just_in_case
Moderator
Quote
2023-02-16 17:58:01

Hii there guys, Today I released a new action that can be super helpful in framing Dialogues in Coppercube games. Especially in RPG, and Visual Novels that deal with storytelling.

🔎︎


The action reads an external .txt file and you generally need to do all of your dialogue stuff in that file.

The action handles the below things.

 Character Name

 Character Expression 

 Character Avatar 

 Sound playback 

 Duration 

 Skip Dialogue with a key 

 Auto text animation 

 External as well as internal sound and textures support 

 Use $_$ to display variable value in dialogues 


Internally the action handles many things and works great.

Hope it will be helpful to you guys

Watch the Usage video tutorial on YouTube here:-
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=...

Download the extension from Neophyte.cf :-
https://neophyte.cf/ccb_action_d...


edwin123
Registered User
Quote
2023-02-16 18:32:05

cool


hadoken
Guest
Quote
2023-02-16 20:09:41

Congratulations @just_in_case, great CopperCube addition!

Thanks for this plus for the video. Surely have to try out cool things to get out of it ...


coa
Registered User
Quote
2023-02-16 20:30:43

nice!


andgameplay
Registered User
Quote
2023-02-16 22:14:28

Amazing Just_in_case, you are a master in Coppercube!


Guest
Guest
Quote
2023-02-17 20:40:37

wow, thanks mate you are awesome.


chicoporter
Registered User
Quote
2023-02-18 22:32:25

I'm having issues. When I tried playing with new dialog, I got this error:

action_dialog_manager:99:TypeError:dialog is undefined

What am I doing wrong?


chicoporter
Registered User
Quote
2023-02-18 23:00:21

I sort of figured it out. and the answer was right in front of me.


just_in_case
Moderator
Quote
2023-02-19 06:10:19

thanks all for your wonderful feedback.

@Chicoporter, hope you have sorted it out. Just make sure there in no empty line in the last of your ".txt" file that you are using for the dialogue data. Also make sure you filled the parameters correctly inside the action.

Thanks for trying out the extension


chicoporter
Registered User
Quote
2023-02-20 11:35:16

I'm slowly learning. I've always had a problem following video tutorials.

Does the dialog have to be on one file? What I'm going to try to do is have a shop of sorts with different vendors to talk to. Should I still just use the one file? I'd only split it up into separate files for organizational reasons.


just_in_case
Moderator
Quote
2023-02-22 05:54:10

Yes, you can have the dialogue in one file, the extension allow you to have start line and stop line.

So you can have dialogue in the same file and then you can read the dialogue from single file but have them in same file.

But just for organizing the dialogues and sorting them you can have them in multiple "dialogue.txt" file , you can then use different instance of the action, with different name for the .txt file

that way you can read the Dialogues from multiple files as well.

So it's totally upto you how you want to use, you can either do it from multiple files or you can use the single file as well.


Create reply:


Posted by: (you are not logged in)


Enter the missing letter in: "In?ernational" (you are not logged in)


Text:

 

  

Possible Codes


Feature Code
Link [url] www.example.com [/url]
Bold [b]bold text[/b]
Image [img]http://www.example.com/image.jpg[/img]
Quote [quote]quoted text[/quote]
Code [code]source code[/code]

Emoticons


   






Copyright© Ambiera e.U. all rights reserved.
Privacy Policy | Terms and Conditions | Imprint | Contact